ORBIS CATHOLICUS

Everything truly and lastingly catholic in word and image

The Vicar of Christ is the Guardian of Christ’s flock

Posted by catholicus on May 13, 2006

popebenedictoxvi.jpg

“Blessed art thou, Simon Bar­Jona, because flesh and blood hath not revealed it to thee, but My Father Who is in Heaven: and I say to thee, that thou art Peter, and upon this Rock I will build My Church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it; and to thee I will give the keys of the kingdom of Heaven; and whatsoever thou shalt bind upon earth, it shall be bound also in Heaven; and whatsoever thou shall loose on earth, it shall be loosed also in Heaven.” (Matthew 16: 13-19) and “Feed my lambs, … feed my sheep!” (John 21:16-17), these words of the Divine Shepherd to the Prince of the Apostles Saint Peter, constitute him the guardian of Christ’s flock.

Leave a Reply

 
